first_img ‘Extinct’ Russian Volcano Has Woken Up, Scientists SayWatch: Bali Volcano Spews Ash 18,000 Feet Into the Air During Eruption Stay on target Mexico’s Popocatépetl volcano exploded early on Monday, launching a cloud of ash, gas, and smoke over 4,000 meters high into the morning sky.On June 17, the National Coordination of Civil Protection (CNPC) tweeted a warning about the brief eruption, which occurred at 6:44 a.m. CDT (7:44 a.m. EST), El Financiero reported. The tweet noted that the explosion was about 4,000 to 5,000 feet high and issued a Yellow Phase 2 alert for residents, urging them not to approach the volcano at the time.#Volcán #Popocatépetl. A las 06:44 h, se detectó una explosión con una altura entre 4 y 5 km. Elde alerta se encuentra en #AmarilloFase2. Se exhorta a no acercarse al volcán. pic.twitter.com/WUCr7USwxX— ProtecciónCivilSeguridad (@CNPC_MX) June 17, 2019A follow up tweet by the CNPC said that the states of EdoMex, Morelos, Puebla, and Tlaxcala haven’t recorded signs of ash fall, however, the CNPC said they will monitor these areas.#Actualización #Popocatépetl.Monitoreo específico por posible caída de ceniza:En relación al evento registrado a las 06:44 horas, los estados de #Morelos, #Puebla, #Tlaxcala y #EdoMex (excepto municipio Ozumba), no tienen registro de caída de ceniza al momento. pic.twitter.com/QpeL91CWOo— ProtecciónCivilSeguridad (@CNPC_MX) June 17, 2019Mexico’s National Centre for Disaster Prevention (CENAPRED) said a total of 185 exhalations from the Popocatépetl volcano were identified and each came with gas, water vapor, and light amounts of ash. In addition to the 6:44 a.m. CDT explosion, there was another one recorded at 7:04 a.m. CDT (8:04 a.m. EST), followed by a 3.1 magnitude volcanotectonic earthquake at 7:07 p.m. CDT (8:07 p.m. EST).This isn’t the first time the Popocatépetl volcano has exploded this year: On March 18, the massive volcano erupted at night, sending ash into the night sky and launching incandescent rock roughly 1.5 miles down its slopes. The eruption, which was one of the volcano’s largest over the years, was loud enough to shake doors and windows in the nearby city of Puebla.More on Geek.com:Watch: Mexico’s Popocatépetl Volcano Explodes in One of Largest Eruptions in Years ‘Extinct’ Russian Volcano Has Woken Up, Scientists SayWatch: Italy’s Mount Etna Volcano Erupts, Spews Lava Into Night Skylast_img read more